Starting Qigong when 70: Studies show preventive power

Qiqong is a form of alternative healing used by many eastern meditation practitioners. It is a type of energy medicine that is said to approach health in a holistic manner. Being over 70, I’ve begun appreciating the many forms in which we can better ourselves. Health has many aspects to it; physical well-being is only strengthened when the mind itself is strong. This is how I stumbled upon Qigong. I was looking for exercises that would keep me fit while being gentle enough for my body. I was surprised to see that many people my age were also looking for similar routines, and the most popular among them is Qigong. I have to state here that many Americans like Tai Chi, but Tai Chi is a form of Qigong.

014_141.img_assist_custom-330x235

Image Source: energyarts.com

What really attracted me were the medical studies that showed how the exercise works. The regimen – as with most eastern medicine – focuses on building the mind while allowing the body to move. The movement is also quite tame but still challenging enough to get me sweating after only a few minutes. The best part is that Qigong masters really do take into account aging and any physical limitations one may have. Qigong may be practiced standing up, sitting down, or even in the supine position. Practices may also be adjusted for each person.

ALmobile6

Image Source: worldtaichiday.org

For me, the added benefit was how repetitive the movements were. Qigong is usually practiced with the master talking about balancing the mind. This, along with the movements and the warm, relaxing music, really puts you in a state of total bliss. I felt better even after only one session – and many medical studies do state the relaxing power of the exercise. I can’t wait to do it again!

I am Tracy Luttrell. I may be over 70, but I am still living life to the fullest and sharing my stories in this Twitter account.

Leave a Reply

